Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Canon 16-35mm f2.8L Mk2: Appendix: focus and depth of field.

First, my apologies for not putting "mark2" in the titles of the parts. I've no experience of the mark 1.

One another review, as slejhammer pointed out to me, the reviewer found that his copy of this lens repeatedly focused in front of his focus point. In my trials over the past few days I was convinced that, on occasion, mine was doing the same: the daffodils in the arlier part of this series seemed to have a dodgy focus-point.
The plot thickens just a little here. Having looked at the originals, I found that I had in fact focused on a petal that was not in the visible crop.Doh!(Zig slaps forehead).
Well, I took a series of about another 100 shots today to investigate this before I send it back. After much messing about with distance, depth of field, focal length and aperture, I did notice that 3 of those shots did indeed seem to focus on a point in front of where they should have. Two of these were by a centimetre or so over a distance of less than a metre, at least one other was by about 20 cms over a distance of 5 metres.
I then got the washing-line out in the garden, and with the help of clothes-pegs, proceeded to take many a shot along the line to see if there was any focusing upon the pegs that I hadn't focused upon!
As I then found no discrepancy, I surmised that this was all user error (in my case only, I hasten to add), so decided to find out why.
I found that the "definites" had the common features of being f2.8 on a focal length of 16mm.