Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Family Portraits

Exif for all pictures: ISO 100; f5.6; 1/30sec; 70mm.

Lighting: 2 flash guns at 10 and 1 o'clock with diffuser panels. Backlight from a 100-watt spotlight.

The only post production done was an increase in contrast. I'm very happy with results, considering i'm new to portraiture.

[Image: DSC02668.jpg]

[Image: DSC02675.jpg]

[Image: DSC02685.jpg]

I'm also going to crossover into photoshop playground and ask for post production suggestions.

Enjoy!

Sony A700/ 16-80mm / 70-300mm / 11-18 mm / 100mm macro

My Flickr page

In hindsight, I probably should have used a different backdrop. I don't think there's enough contrast between it and the skin.

My Flickr page

Hello Rabid ,

You might want to try to move your subjects further away from the back drop . You will get more " blur " in it and the wrinkles and what not wont be as noticable . Also another thing that i am seeing is they are leaning to the left ? maybe it was your intention ? Or mabye the way they are all sitting ?
One more thing ( sorry ) i am seeing a yellow tint , could be my monitor , or your WB ?
Keep shooting portraits , they can be a lot of fun ! i love playing with the different lighting techs , but Paul will have to help more with that .

All in all i think they are a great start !!! ........ Shawn

Canon 20d and a few cheap lenses ..

It is our job as photographers to show people what they saw but didnt realize they saw it ......

Hey Shawn,

Thanks for the advice. I can't really have the subjects further away from the backdrop without knocking out a wall, unfortunately. the lean is due to camera tilt, which was intentional, because i just thought it made it look not quite as boring as straight up and down. With the yellow tint, do you mean in the skintones or just the background? I know there's a yellow tint in the background, because I used a tungsten spotlight to light it, and had WB set to Flash.