Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Just Joined

Hi everyone.

I am a casual photographer with more experience of real photography based upon film. Lately I have been using a small Nikon compact, which has proved to be an annoying due to the delay between locking the focus and the picture actually being taken. This has proved to be problematic in photographing babies.

Thinking of moving to a Canon EOS 700D, 70D or 7D Mk 1. Any comments on which to select would be most welcome.

(Nov 26, 2014, 14:24)LincolnshireDyke Wrote:  Hi everyone.

I am a casual photographer with more experience of real photography based upon film. Lately I have been using a small Nikon compact, which has proved to be an annoying due to the delay between locking the focus and the picture actually being taken. This has proved to be problematic in photographing babies.

Thinking of moving to a Canon EOS 700D, 70D or 7D Mk 1. Any comments on which to select would be most welcome.

Hi LincolnshireDyke! For what it's worth - I would say of the options you have offered the 7D would be my choice. I bought my partner one with the battery grip and a EF 24-105mm f4 L IS to go with it as her walkabout lens last Christmas. Very happy with it. Have a look in the Used sections of the London Camera Exchange on Silver Street in Lincoln - You may find you can have a good lens for less. Kind regards, Rolf

In photography, the smallest thing can be a great subject. The little human detail can become a leitmotiv.

—Henri Cartier-Bresson

Hello and welcome to the photography forums! It is nice to meet you and have you here as a member!

Make yourself right at home and feel free to join in on the conversations!

Barbara - Life is what you make of it!

(Nov 26, 2014, 15:52)Rolf Wrote: