Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Just purchased my first DSLR, previous Point&Shoot user!

Big Grin

Why Hello everyone! My name is Charles, Im 20, and Im a car nut, Subaru nut to narrow it down more. I love taking photos, and I love attention to detail!

Im a college student at my local Community College, and have worked for an IT company for going on 3.5 years now.

In 2004, when I was in 10th grade, I purchased my first personal point and shoot. A Canon A620

My father has a Kodak and its a nice camera for a P&S, but way to vivid on the greens for me. I liked the control of the A620 and felt it was very customizable.

Not that I ever used any setting but Auto.... But thats what Im here for now.

Monday night I placed an order for a new Canon Rebel XSi with the IS kit lens. A few hours ago I ordered myself a 4GB SD card and a Canon "nifty fifty", and a cheapy Canon backpack.

My goal is to get into taking HDR Images. My friends say I have a good eye for angles and taking photos of cars and other things.

Soo thats my introduction... I hope to learn alot here, and if someone could direct me to a thread about HDR imaging on a Rebel that'd be grand!

Below are some photos Ive taken on my P&S and edited on my mac in CS3. I also have Aperture but have no clue how to use it...

[Image: IMG_3214b.jpg]
[Image: caredit.jpg]

Hello Charles and welcome to ShutterTalk.

All you need to know about HDR is to use a tripod and bracket exposures, then merge them in CS3.
It will be tempting to go wild with HDR because it's pretty awesome at first, but that particular "look" has already been done to death and is now something of a joke among most photographers, so take it easy and try to serve the image you want to create, rather than the technique.

My advice for when you get the new camera is to take it slow and really read the manual.
Then use it for a few days, and read the manual again. Repeat every few weeks as you learn.