Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Lenses

Hi everyone.
After my introduction this is my first thread, well question and I'm sure there will be others from me. ok bare in mind I'm a complete novice could someone shed some light on lenses. With my Nikon D3200 I got a 18-55mm zoom lens, now that I've used it a couple of times I can see it doesn't zoom very much but its ok for now whilst I'm getting used to the camera. What other lenses should I be looking at as my next purchase. I've read a little about an 18-200m lens and a 50m, whats the difference between the two and which one would be best for taking pictures of animals on a safari or of the countryside or the birds in my garden.
Thanks
Warren

50mm is fixed, no zoom. 18-200mm zoom, or even 18-300mm zoom, would meet your requirements. I us a Tamron zoom, and very happy with it. Ed.

To each his own!

(Apr 20, 2014, 13:21)redwazza Wrote:  Hi everyone.
After my introduction this is my first thread, well question and I'm sure there will be others from me. ok bare in mind I'm a complete novice could someone shed some light on lenses. With my Nikon D3200 I got a 18-55mm zoom lens, now that I've used it a couple of times I can see it doesn't zoom very much but its ok for now whilst I'm getting used to the camera. What other lenses should I be looking at as my next purchase. I've read a little about an 18-200m lens and a 50m, whats the difference between the two and which one would be best for taking pictures of animals on a safari or of the countryside or the birds in my garden.
Thanks
Warren

Hi i have a Nikon D700 and use the 28-300 find its good for most things also have the 50mm good for street photos and you can pick them up on ebay at a reasonable cost check out some of my pics on Flickr hope this helps

https://www.flickr.com/photos/27519825@N05/