Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

My Girl

Here are a couple of shots of my daughter that I took a couple of days ago around sunset (ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/60). I’m still learning all of the functions on my 40D and my flash. I was hoping for a prettier sunset, but the sky stayed pretty much a blue-gray the whole time. Let me know what you think of these and anything you think I should have done differently.

[Image: IMG_0828b.jpg]

[Image: IMG_0818z.jpg]

"The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera." ~ Dorothea Lange

Very pretty girl vying for attention with the sunflowers, aine.
The B/G ones seem ok but the ones in the foreground are much too powerful.
In the second shot, her spectacles are lopsided a little. You need the eyes of a hawk.Big Grin
Thats my 3 pennyworth anyway.

Lumix LX5.
Canon 350 D.+ 18-55 Kit lens + Tamron 70-300 macro. + Canon 50mm f1.8 + Manfrotto tripod, in bag.

I absolutely agree with NT about the sunflower in the foreground. I believe that the first photo is the best of the two. I just put my thumb in front of the humongeous flower to block it out. The photo immediately improved markedly. To make it a real winner, she only needed to have eye contact. Otherwise, it's a very stunning photo. Regards.....Dennis

Hello Aine,
I admire a lot of your photos, including some of your daughter, but these are not among them. When I look at a portrait, I wont to have a sense that I see not only the physical likeness of the person, but also some window into the personality/life experience/mood etc of the person. You have captured that admirably in your previous posts, but not in these (the second photo is better in this respect than the first). The photos look posed and annatural. I should know, since I do not take people photos, because I do not know how to capture what I am berating you for not capturing (in my view).