Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Something New.

Just treated myself to my first ever DSLR. My " Bridge " enjoying retirement. Lots to learn and an handbook the size of the " Encyclopedia Britannica ". This pic is an attempt at something that I have never done before : Close-up.
Nikon D3300 with kit lens ( AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5 - 5.6 G VR11 )
1/250 @ f/8, ISO 400, 48mm. VR Off, Tripod. Close - up Mode.

[Image: normal_Copy_File.jpg]

Off to a good start Mike,next time, a wee bit more room at the top, to include all the flower. Ed.

To each his own!

Thanks Ed, excellent tip. No doubt you would have no problem getting rid of the two leaves to the left of the shot, which I find somewhat intrusive.
My next move is to attempt Aperture Priority to practice DOF.
Regards,
Mike.

Fantastic shot!!! Really nice!

Many thanks Jeff.
For those that may be interested the shot is of the flower of a Bush Fuchsia which just happens to be in the car park to my flat.
Mike.

Nice shot, Mike, and I would clone out the sharp petal at the top left.

I don't understand Close-Up Mode. Presumably you can only get as close as the nearest focus distance of your lens, which would probably make a fuchsia flower less than a quarter of the image from a standard zoom. So is the D3300 cropping the central area of the frame to make the subject look bigger?

Cheers.
Philip

Hi Philip,
This is a touch technical for me. Close - up is obtained on the mode dial and the D3300 optimises settings to suit. My understanding is that close - up is for close - up shots of flowers, insects etc. This would not qualify as Macro. For that a Macro lens, or Macro capable lens, would be required. Minimum focus distance for the kit lens is : AF - 0.28m from focal plane at all zoom positions.
MF - 0.25m from focal plane at all zoom positions.
As for cropping, I did that in Elements.
Hope this helps,
Mike