Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

lens question

i am a newbie. just got my canon DRXT 2 weeks ago. i have a question, i want to shoot candids and weddings, what's a good but cheap lens to use? i/m planning to get the Tamron AF 19-35mm 3.5-4.5 is this a good lens? so that you'll know, this is what i got in my bag

canon drxt w/ batt grip
canon 18 - 55 kit lens
canon 50mm 1.8
Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Zoom Macro Super II Lens

what's a good focal length for shooting weddings and street candids?

more power
cleng

Canon Digital Rebel XT w/ Grip // Canon 17 - 40 L // Tamron 28 - 70 2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical [IF] // Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II // Canon Speedlite 580 EX// Sigma EF 500 DG Super EO-ETTL // Sandisk Ultra 512mb // Sandisk 512

Welcome to shutter talk.

Forget the Tamron, the kit lens is of a similar quality and already covers the ranges of that lens.

The 300 should be okay for candid street shots as well as weddings in a pinch. I can't think of a cheap alternative, but for around $700 you could pick up a Sigma 70-200 F2.8 that seems popular for portrait work.

Definitely second that - the Tamron already duplicates the range that you have with the kit lens. If you wanted something faster, maybe the Sigma 18-50, which slejhamer reviewed here is a better alternative...

Well the Sigma 70-200 2.8 is a great Wedding Lens (I use one myself). However, if you want to shoot weddings you will need a decent flash, some CF cards, back-up gear in case something breaks down.

Are you based in the US? The $700 price for the Sigma lens is US $.

The Sigma 18-50 is also a good bet.

Are you wanting to shoot weddings for money or just for fun?

Canon stuff.