Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Off Camera Flash Portrait

After putting the camera down for a while I've found some new inspiration in experimenting with off camera flash.
I bought some cheap ebay wireless triggers (Yongnuo RF-602) and started to really enjoy the new found control of light.

Here's an example taken using a Canon 580EXII in a Westcott 28" softbox taken outside with dark clouds as the background.
Canon 50D, 50mm 1.8

I’m still new to using off camera flash techniques so all comments and suggestions are welcome. Feel free to give honest feedback or critique (good or bad).

[Image: IMG_0378-edit.jpg]

Having only one light has its limitations so I'm keen to buy some more but the Canon gear is so expensive that I'm considering buying a couple of cheap flashes on ebay...

Canon 50D.
Redbubble

very pleasing

Nikon D3100 with Tokina 28-70mm f3.5, (I like to use a Vivitar .43x aux on the 28-70mm Tokina), Nikkor 10.5 mm fisheye, Quanteray 70-300mm f4.5, ProOptic 500 mm f6.3 mirror lens. http://donschaefferphoto.blogspot.com/

Very nice portrait.

Canon stuff.

Lonf time - so see. I like it. The light looks very professional yet very natural looking.

It is a lovely photo although I prefer to see all the face.
The more I look at it, the more I see the young ladies face, as a cut and paste.
Maybe it is the sharp line of her chin and cheeks, or maybe just me. :/
Still, it is better than any of mine so far. Smile

Lumix LX5.
Canon 350 D.+ 18-55 Kit lens + Tamron 70-300 macro. + Canon 50mm f1.8 + Manfrotto tripod, in bag.

Thanks for your comments. I know what you mean about the 'cut and paste' appearance of her face, I had the same thought as I did the post processing.

Has anyone used any of the cheap Ebay / Yongnuo flashes for off camera work?

Canon 50D.
Redbubble

Toad - I know it's been a long time between posts. My photography activity seems to peak when I'm on annual leave!

Another recent experiment:

[Image: 4526118372.jpg]