Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Birds and flowers

I am very new at taking pictures and have enjoyed trying my hand at flowers, birds and bees. Using Canon 60 D with Canon Zoom Lens EF 70-300 for the birds and the squirrel I threw in and Canon Macro Lens EF 100 mm for the flowers and bees.
I'm not sure how many photos are appropriate to send at one time.                

Your photos lack sharpness. Do you manually select the focus point, or do you let the camera decide the focus area?

(Mar 7, 2013, 11:04)vlad Wrote:  Your photos lack sharpness. Do you manually select the focus point, or do you let the camera decide the focus area?

I do it manually.

(Mar 7, 2013, 11:51)razboop Wrote:  
(Mar 7, 2013, 11:04)vlad Wrote:  Your photos lack sharpness. Do you manually select the focus point, or do you let the camera decide the focus area?

I do it manually.

Your first image of the violet flower apears to be out of focus. In addition your aperture at f/2 creates a shallow depth of field which puts even more demand on focus. Your shutter speed was 1/1000 and ISO 1600. It seems as if that particular photo would not require that high of a shutter speed. ISO 1600 would create noise and amplify your lack of focus. If your photo was copped that would again increase focus problems and noise.
If your subject was suficiently lit I would suggest the following:
Smaller aperture (f/8)
Lower ISO (400 maximum)
slower shutter speed (1/60 minimum)
set auto focus to AF-s mode.

Hope this helps.

(Mar 15, 2013, 08:08)Jimbo9948 Wrote:  

I do it manually.