Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

JPEG or Tiff

What is the best format to save your images as.
I have been told to save as TIFs which I have not done as yet.
My photos get downloaded as JPEGs.
I am quite new to this and have made a big mistake of cropping most of my images
and saving. This in turn has lost me the info on them.
Should I keep all originals, even the bad ones?
Or can I keep the info on the copies somehow?
How do you store yours?

Canon EOS 650D with 18-55 kit lens/ 75-300 zoom/ 100-400 zoom
https://www.flickr.com/photos/125137869@N08/

There have been many discussion on this subject, Johny. I personally don’t save as Tiffs. I do shoot in RAW, though, and keep my originals, weeding out the definite rubbish first. Not sure whether it is best to do the weeding out as soon after shooting or go back a few days later. Always work with a copy file, never the original.

Tiff's are a very large file size. Personally I use Jpg and,after editing, save as a copy, retaining the original. I just add a letter after the originals name. If you are in error, Windows will tell you that you are about to overwrite, so there is a failsafe. I delete what I do no not need. You are not alone cropping and saving, I did not initially realise that file size was reduced. Ed.

(Oct 19, 2013, 02:39)EdMak Wrote:  Tiff's are a very large file size. Personally I use Jpg and,after editing, save as a copy, retaining the original. I just add a letter after the originals name. If you are in error, Windows will tell you that you are about to overwrite, so there is a failsafe. I delete what I do no not need. You are not alone cropping and saving, I did not initially realise that file size was reduced. Ed.

I normally shoot nikon raw and down load via ViewNX2. Usuing ViewNX2 I change to 8 bit TIff to work with using Adobe photo elements 11. I just started in December so I am not an expert. For on line face book stuff and sharing I normally save as medium to low JPEG.