Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

photos with special lighting

hoping to go to a railway museum photography night where the locomotives are to be lit with lights either behind or from underneath also coloured lights any tips please

Boy that sounds cool. I'm a rookie too but depending on the light I would have a ball with angles and available light. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Post some pic please.

What camera John. What exactly do you mean by, Behind, and, Underneath. Welcome to the Forum. Ed.

(Sep 20, 2013, 08:45)locksmithjohn Wrote:  
hoping to go to a railway museum photography night where the locomotives are to be lit with lights either behind or from underneath also coloured lights any tips please

Tripod.
Fastest lens you've got.
Flash to fill in where the lighting doesn't cover.
Adjust your exposure to match the available light, then add just enough flash to bring out the details.

Valley of the Sun, Arizona
D2Xs, D200's, D100's, LightRoom, CS-CC
2HowardsPhoto.biz

(Sep 20, 2013, 15:22)Wall-E Wrote:  some of the lights are positioned under the locos and all different places around them
if you can get the website from York railway museum in gb they did it last year and pictures are on ther then you will see what I mean

and thanks for info

Tripod.
Fastest lens you've got.
Adjust your exposure to match the available light, then add just enough flash to bring out the details.