Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Nikon 35mm 1.8 or 50mm 1.8

Hi all, I am new to digital photography and have recently bought a Nikon D7100 and 18-200mm VRII lense which I am having stacks of fun with.

Now with Xmas just around the corner and cash presents and of course the Nikon money back from the camera purchase due anytime I have been considering a second lense and it's been suggested I should consider a prime.

What do I photograph, anything really, I've not decided what I wish to focus on (pardon the pun) but I enjoy the great outdoors, wildlife, plant life, star trails, landscape and of course people.

So, having cash to burn, albeit not a lot depending how generous people are, what prime should i seriously really consider? Now I realise some will say both, but if I had to choose which one, quality of build and shot are important.

Many thanks

Bob

The 35mm focal length is probably going to be more versatile on the D7100's APSC size sensor - it is equivalent to the standard lens that came with most 35mm film cameras.

Philip

Thanks, I've been looking at them and they look good and a reasonably priced too, very well priced actually...

:-)

Hi Mr Bob,

Welcome to the forum. There will be as many opinions on this, as there are posters on the subject I suspect. MrB (Philip) in post2, has a particularly valid point in what he says, and in many ways I agree with him. However, when I set about resolving the same problem which you now have, I went for the 50mm F/1.8 and I haven't regretted doing so. This little gem is (or was when I bought mine) available for under £100.00 brand new and it is as sharp as a razor. To get any other lens as sharp as it, you'd undoubtedly end up paying more and in some instances considerably more.