Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Infrared Photography

Hi everybody,
Although I've been taking "pictures" for 50 years, I'm new to photography. Having recently swopped working for a living to become a gentleman of leisure (chores. wife and grand kids permitting), I now have time to do what I want. I've been logging in as a guest on shuttertalk for a few months now hoping to find a thread that will give me more information on a specific type of photography I would like to follow. To date I haven't seen anything relating to infrared photography (maybe it's been done to death before??) . Are there any photographers out there with any advice on this topic. Huh

Welcome to Shuttertalk Sandpiper60.
My knowledge of infrared is very meagre other than, I think, there being three possible methods of producing the effect.
1. Converting a digital camera to infrared. Note: once converted there is no going back.
2. Use an infrared filter.
3. Convert an image that you have already shot to mimic infrared with something like Photoshop.
That's my lot. One point-- It is very useful if you could let forum members know what kit you use and to sign off with a name. You will find folks happy to help.
Enjoy yourself ! Mike.

(Jan 25, 2014, 14:38)Sandpiper60 Wrote:  Hi everybody,
Although I've been taking "pictures" for 50 years, I'm new to photography. Having recently swopped working for a living to become a gentleman of leisure (chores. wife and grand kids permitting), I now have time to do what I want. I've been logging in as a guest on shuttertalk for a few months now hoping to find a thread that will give me more information on a specific type of photography I would like to follow. To date I haven't seen anything relating to infrared photography (maybe it's been done to death before??) . Are there any photographers out there with any advice on this topic. Huh

Interesting 'handle'.
Don't suppose you ever owned a Sandpiper 565 mini cruiser sailboat?