Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Life after Nikon D3100

I've been using my trusty D3100 since early 2012, and after using some of my friends' cameras and seeing how much better photos are from them I think the time to move forward is coming soon.

So what would you recommend for me? I would like to stand by Nikon, seeing that I've got the 35mm, 55-300 (which will soon be traded in for a 18-105) lenses that I would like to keep.

In my relatively brief experience of DSLR photography, the quality of the lenses used is of great significance to image quality, together, of course, with the photographer's skill and technique in image capture and image processing. Did you carry out fair tests, by using your friends' cameras with the same lenses as used on your own camera? Is there something about the D3100 that is impeding your technique?

According to DP Review, and other web reviews, the image quality from the D3100 is very good and it handles well. If funds are limited, perhaps it would be worth considering buying the 18-105mm lens (assuming it is a high quality lens), and keeping both the D3100 and the 55-300mm lens. This should give you a system with high image quality when really needed, plus the flexibility of a wide range of focal lengths.

Cheers.
Philip

The reason I'm selling the 55-300mm is that I barely use it, and when I do I don't find that much use for the 200-300 range. I think an 18-105mm would be better suited for my needs.

As for the camera, I didn't use the exact same lens on my friends' ones, but the same types (i.e. 18-55mm kit, 35mm), and the image quality is a lot better. What's more, the D3100 seems to turn out photos that aren't as sharp, and I would go for better focus.

Fair enough - how about this tried and trusted model then:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nikon-Digital-Ca...ikon+D7000

Cheers.
Philip

Looks really interesting! I was considering the D90 for a while, but I think this is better. Smile