Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Question on Depth

Hello, I'm fairly new to photography, but would like some ideas on how to take a good depth of field shot, if anyone could give me any tips it would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Craig.

Welcome. What equipment do you use. Ed.

To each his own!

(Oct 4, 2015, 02:14)EdMak Wrote:  Welcome. What equipment do you use. Ed.

Hello, I have a Nikon DF, 24 mm & a 50 mm lens.

Select Landscape from the settings, this is a good "Safety net, it will go for the smallest aperture, (Higher number), commensurate with Weather/Light conditions. The 24mm lens will give a very good depth of field, even on full auto. On manual settings select F11, as a starting point, make sure the shutter speed is not to slow, although theoretically anything above a 1/25 would be acceptable. Increase the ISO if necessary, but, not above 800.
There are other factors, but the above is, to me, a good starting point. Hope to see some pics!! Cheers. Ed.

To each his own!

(Oct 4, 2015, 08:57)EdMak Wrote:  Select Landscape from the settings, this is a good "Safety net, it will go for the smallest aperture, (Higher number), commensurate with Weather/Light conditions. The 24mm lens will give a very good depth of field, even on full auto. On manual settings select F11, as a starting point, make sure the shutter speed is not to slow, although theoretically anything above a 1/25 would be acceptable. Increase the ISO if necessary, but, not above 800.
There are other factors, but the above is, to me, a good starting point. Hope to see some pics!! Cheers. Ed.

Thanks Ed for the advice I will go out tomorrow & have a go, then I will have to work out how to post them on here.
Craig

[Image: DSC_8561.jpg]
How"s this I hope I have done it right, please let me know if you get the picture.
Thanks.
Craig

Puzzling EXIF data, was this taken Early afternoon, 1250 ISO, 4.9 Sec @ F11. Looks bit dark, to me, on my monitor. Cheers. Ed.

To each his own!