#Login Register
Digital Photography Forums
Adobe Lightroom Beta for Windows
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average


Jul 19, 2006, 00:04 #1
shuttertalk Shuttertalker *******
Status: Offline Posts:9,733 Threads:1,965 Joined:May 2004 Reputation: 6
Windows users, wait no longer - It's here!!
http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/lightroom/


Jul 19, 2006, 03:04 #2
Russt Posting Freak *****
Status: Offline Posts:1,029 Threads:75 Joined:Feb 2005 Reputation: 0
just looked at the specs........think I will be needing an upgrade on the old puter before I give that a try!!

Jul 19, 2006, 03:51 #3
byrt_001 Posting Freak *****
Status: Offline Posts:992 Threads:138 Joined:Nov 2004 Reputation: 0
i try also to run aperture and my pc its just way too slow

mooreeeeeeeeee raaaaaaammmmmmmm

Jul 19, 2006, 08:19 #4
slejhamer Posting Freak *****
Status: Offline Posts:1,716 Threads:125 Joined:Aug 2004 Reputation: 0
Looks like a great product for many photographers. This will put Capture One out of business, unless they can really step up their offering.

Jul 19, 2006, 20:15 #5
Wedding Shooter Posting Freak *****
Status: Offline Posts:2,224 Threads:76 Joined:Aug 2005 Reputation: 0
I really like Lightroom - glad you guys in PC land can now try it out Wink

Sep 25, 2006, 18:16 #6
matthew Shuttertalker *****
Status: Offline Posts:3,036 Threads:253 Joined:Jun 2005 Reputation: 3
Good news for my PC-equipped friends -- Lightroom Beta 4 is out, and now has feature-parity with the Macintosh version.

I tried out Beta 4 just a few minutes ago, and it's a major change. It runs faster, has a downgraded (windows-esque) interface, and has increased the control over the exposure and development. (This is another program that is going to make many, many authors a lot of money.) I'm already rolling my pennies to buy the commercial release. I'd never spring for Photoshop, but this one I'll buy as soon as it comes out.

[rant] Calling it "Photoshop Lightroom" is a bad move, though -- if it doesn't have a Clone tool, it's not photoshop. I understand the idea of branding, but this is such a powerful stand-alone application that tagging it with the name of a graphic designer's program, even one that's become a standard for photographers, does it a disservice. [/rant]


Sep 25, 2006, 21:38 #7
Petographer Posting Freak *****
Status: Offline Posts:3,620 Threads:235 Joined:Aug 2004 Reputation: 0
Wow, great link. Thanks Jules. Why didn't I hear about this before? Doesn't matter. I wouldn't have been able to use it anyway with the old pc.

Sep 25, 2006, 22:20 #8
Paul.R.Lindqvist Long time Lurker *****
Status: Offline Posts:887 Threads:103 Joined:Jun 2005 Reputation: 0
Iv been using LR since beta 1, and i aint gonna stop now. Big Grin

As for the name, i agree. Simply lightroom was much better.

/Paul L.

Sep 26, 2006, 09:23 #9
Petographer Posting Freak *****
Status: Offline Posts:3,620 Threads:235 Joined:Aug 2004 Reputation: 0
Loaded this last night. Very slick.

Sep 26, 2006, 23:51 #10
shuttertalk Shuttertalker *******
Status: Offline Posts:9,733 Threads:1,965 Joined:May 2004 Reputation: 6
Petographer Wrote:Loaded this last night. Very slick.
On PC? Tell me more! Big Grin

Sep 27, 2006, 01:00 #11
Paul.R.Lindqvist Long time Lurker *****
Status: Offline Posts:887 Threads:103 Joined:Jun 2005 Reputation: 0
So Colin how does it work for ya ?

Jules havent you tried it yet ?

/Paul L.


Sep 27, 2006, 06:55 #12
Petographer Posting Freak *****
Status: Offline Posts:3,620 Threads:235 Joined:Aug 2004 Reputation: 0
I didn't do much , just played around but the interface is nice. I'll still be using PS though.






Forum Jump:


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread / Author Replies / Views Last Post
5 Replies 1,460 Views
Last Post by EdMak
Feb 6, 2016, 09:11
25 Replies 5,198 Views
Last Post by Freeman
Dec 23, 2014, 05:12
2 Replies 1,645 Views
Last Post by Napomneret
Oct 9, 2014, 08:27

Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)