Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

New career

Well some of you know that I've been a boat builder for a luxury yacht manufacturer for a number of years. I have since moved on because of one reason or another. One being the Canadian dollar rising has caused buyers south of the border to buy near home. A year and a half later I'm on to a new career as a Tech for a crane company. The series of images that follow show one of the small hydraulic cranes being erected. This particular one, RB1035N is listed on the link I have provided. The process took the better part of a day. Apologies to those that have trouble with multiple images. I tried to keep the file sizes to a minimum.

1) As it looks for transportation. Hooked to a truch by 5th wheel.
[Image: Mega-004-web.jpg]

2) Next is to set the downriggers for stabilization. Here showing a tech levelling the platform.
[Image: Mega-007-web.jpg]

3) The truck is then pulled ahead and the erection begins.
[Image: Mega-013-web.jpg]

4) The unfolding of the mast and boom are operated by hydraulics.
[Image: Mega-017-web.jpg]

5)
[Image: Mega-022-web.jpg]

6)
[Image: Mega-027-web.jpg]

7)
[Image: Mega-033-web.jpg]

8)
[Image: Mega-035-web.jpg]

9) Before the boom can be extended the counter weights must be put into place. Next is to remove the rear trolly.
[Image: Mega-038-web.jpg]

10) Counter weights being added. When finished the boom will be fully extended.
[Image: Mega-043-web.jpg]

Sit, stay, ok, hold it! Awww, no drooling! :O
My flickr images

I have seen those in Hamburg and Luebeck ports... They are so hight... to me they resemble to a bird... I don't know why... but if I look close the picture #6 looks like a swan Smile

Is this special for construction?

Very interesting and great pictures, Colin Smile

A work of art which did not begin in emotion is not art.
Paul Cezanne

Congratulations, Colin, and good luck in your new job!