Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Lenses for Fuji XE-1 body ?

I have just obtained my first interchangeable lens digital camera, a Fuji XE-1 body, previously having used a Canon compact and a Fuji bridge camera FS 100.

To keep down costs to my pension income I am considering buying older film cameras lenses, e.g. Pentax M42 or K series, using them with the relevant Fuji X-mount adapter. And I also have a Canon 50mm f/1.4 lens available

What do I need to know/consider with using these lenses - probably one of 35mm and one low range zoom like 28-80Huh ?
( I have 55 years of photo experience/knowledge - but little on the question above)

dan

With a lot of adapters Autofocus is either non existent or spotty at best. You can also have to set aperture manually. You would need to read up on the specific adapter you have in mind for the specifics.

Hi Dan,
Have to agree with EnglishBob... and to me there seems little point in having a very up to date camera body and using yesteryear glass on it - but that is a choice to be made. I would have a look in local camera shops for used Fuji lenses before I started trying to put Model T wheels on a Ferrari.. That said, many have gone down this route and there are blogs where the results are said to be ok...Many have said that they successfully use Leica M/R mount lenses and Pentax 42mm screw lenses on their Fuji cameras via adapters and claim good results but slow and manual...

Older lenses would normally stop down via a mechanical system in conjunction with the shutter release mechanism... you would need to stop the lens down manually and at f22 you may struggle to see well enough to get focus...open to max, focus, stop down and press shutter... every time...