Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

7 Years and 20000 pictures

Hi! I'm Steve G., and I currently live about 40 minutes north of Denver (Colorado, USA). Hmm.... what to tell you about myself? I'm a software engineer by trade, but I love photography. I got started on a Pentax SLR (film) when I got married to my beautiful bride 20 years ago (the camera came with her). When I received a Nikon 885 back in 2000 I started taking tons of pictures, knowing that I could toss the bad ones and not have to pay the printing costs. I'm now on my 2nd camera (Canon Digital Rebel XT with 18-55mm kit lens and a 70-300mm tele/macro lens) and I've taken around 20000 pictures. I have yet to throw one away! Smile Ah well, the option is still there.

I'm trying now to venture into making some money on the side from this beautiful and frustrating hobby, although to no avail. I have a website with a hundred or so of my photos on it (go to the gallery if you visit). I think something is missing, but I can't tell what. I'm currently reading up on composition, as that feels like one of my weakest points. I have some of my photos displayed in a coffee shop nearby, but it's been a month and I've had no purchases and it's time for the photos to come down. Ah well, I'm in this for the love, not for the money (although a little money would be nice, eh? Perhaps it would help offset the cost of the toys. :-D).

Anyway, it's nice to meet you, and I look forward to chatting with everyone!
-- Steve G.

Welcome Steven ,

Glad you found us . I am sure you will enjoy it here ......

..... Shawn

Canon 20d and a few cheap lenses ..

It is our job as photographers to show people what they saw but didnt realize they saw it ......

Hi Steven, welcome to Shuttertalk.

It sounds like you have a great foundation. Your website looks good -- and most professional photographers are mostly in it for the love, not the money. Big Grin