Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

A new camera

It's amazing what changes in a few years. The camera that I've been using for the past two years wasn't a new design when I got it, and was already showing its age compared to the competition. Last week, a slightly stunned Me walked out of a Toronto camera store with a brand-new Olympus E-510, one of the first in Canada. I had been planning on waiting for the next top-end Olympus camera, but it's not expected to be released until after I'm safely back from my trip around the world. And the modern features of the new midrange body are just too good to pass up.

It's been a long time since I've been cutting-edge...

It's a nice machine, being slightly narrower than my E-1, but a lot shorter. It's too new for the review sites to have opinions, but I'm guessing that it'll be compared to the Nikon D80 and Canon 30D. It has a non-weatherproof plastic construction (it's worst feature, for me), but it has plenty of external controls (18+1 dial, compared to my E-1's 21+2) and even comes with a pop-up flash. (Nifty.) It has a 10mp sensor, a moving-sensor image stabilizer, and a useable iso1600. Oh yeah -- and Live View.

[Image: piers-070609_6090259-web.jpg]

The IS system really does work. The photo of my neighbouring construction site was taken during a storm a few days ago, and shows the steel studs that had been torn loose by the high winds. It's taken at 1/30s and a 200mm effective focal length. This was using my 5-pound lens that I was able to carefully hand-hold at 1/125 when I was photographing a concert, so it's a good two-stop advantage. Given that I've gone from bracing against a wall at 1/125 to bracing against the wind at 1/30s, I have no complaints.

[Image: piers-070611_6110324-web.jpg]