Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Beginner's (d)SLR

Hi,
I am a beginner in photography and have only quite recently made it more of a focus in my life. I started snapshooting about 2 years ago with a Konica MInolta Dimage Z2 and find that I have learned some basic techniques and kind of defined my interests with it.
Now I am looking into buying an SLR, and would most probalby decide for a digital camara again. Before spending lots on a new dSLR though, I thought it might be a good idea to get a slightly older,used model first and see how I get on with it for a few thousand pics or so.
what do you think? and any suggestions on what camara to look for?

thanks in advance,

uli

Rather than buying a used camera, which in my mind is risky unless the person you buy it from has purchased an extended warranty, I think you would be better off to look at a model that is close to being discontinued for a new model. Have a look at http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs.asp and read up on some of the models you are interested in. Remember that megapixels is NOT the only specification that is important. There are many cameras out there that take better pictures than others with a higher MP sensor. In a DSLR, I would look for one that shoots at the highers ISO ratings with the least amount of noise, interchangeability with your current lenses/lens selection. It seems there are currently quite a few DSLR cameras out there that have been rushed to the market in order to grab a piece of the market. Some of these cameras are having problems. A DSLR and all the glass for it are a major investment, even used, so take some time and look at all of the pro and cons of each model you are interested in.

Hi Uli,

Welcome to Shuttertalk! Smile

That's good advice that Stargazer mentions.