Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

DSLR w theses specs: 2.5" Hi Res LCD, SD, small / light, under $750us

Hi - I am new to Shuttertalk.

I am in the market for a SLR DigiCam with these specs:
2.5" LCD with high # of pixels.
SD storage
Small light camera that my wife can use.
Not expensive ...

We are doing Interoral and Extraoral Dental Photagraphy.
We need to be able to use a 100mm Macro lens with a Ring Flash and manual focus the camera.
It must employ TTL to conrtol the ring flash.

The only camera that I have found that meets the specs is the Pentax istDL or istDS2.
Anyone that uses the Pental istDX - does the Pentax istD series do TTL with a ring flash - manual focus?
I am told that the Nikon D50 and D70 cannot do TTL with the ring flash.
I know that alot of people are going to say that the D50/70 does TTL ... but this is specifically with the ring flash !!

Thanks
Cal

Hi Cal, and welcome.

I don't think there are many DSLRs that use SD storage, so you've pretty much ruled out everything except the *ist D's and the D50...

And since you've also got the pre-requisite for TTL w/ring flash, then I think you've answered the question for yourself!

Any reason for the SD storage limitation?

I just do not know for sure that the Pentax does TTL with the ring flash ...

The SD issue is well I, uh, well, I could go another way - but I have four SD cards: 2gb, 1gb and two 128s becuase my wife and I use Treo 650s. It would be nice to stick with only needing to buy one kind of storage.

Really, it is the one spec I would change if I had to - if the camera did TTL correctly.

Thanks !

Cal Wrote:I just do not know for sure that the Pentax does TTL with the ring flash ...

The SD issue is well I, uh, well, I could go another way - but I have four SD cards: 2gb, 1gb and two 128s becuase my wife and I use Treo 650s. It would be nice to stick with only needing to buy one kind of storage.