Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Digital B&W

I'm a newbie so hello there. I have been wondering for quite a while about the B&W setting on my digital camera. Is there any benefit switching to B&W on the camera over using photoshop to convert a colour image to greyscale?

Hi Blurrr, welcome to Shuttertalk!

Not much benefit, apart from convenience (i.e. you don't have to post-process it on your PC).

The main arguments against using in-camera B/W is that the process is irreversible - you can always convert from colour to B/W, but not the other way round.

I've used camera's with B&W settings and I can get much better results shooting in color and then tweaking it in photoshop before desaturating.

Welcome to the forums, shoot in color and zap it in the PC .

The guys are right, Blurrr. There are at least three different ways to convert to B&W in photoshop, one of them being the channel mixer, and this one alone gives you virtually unlimited possibilities to tweak your picture.

If you wanted to do it in the camera, you'd have to buy filters to allow for some creativity - like you'd have to do with film. IMO there's no point in doing that with a digital cam.

Welcome to the forums!

Gallery/ Flickr Photo Stream

Reality is for wimps who can't face photoshop.

Canon is now incorporating a variety of B&W filter effects in their DSLRs, so the end result is more like that from film. However, in my opinion you'll still get better tonality with photoshop. Big Grin

I agree with all the other posts that converting to b/w in post-processing gives you more flexibility and control than using the camera in "b/w mode".

But... using the camera to take pics in b/w mode can be a useful tool to "preview" a scene when you are composing the photo.