Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Dust?

I was talking to another photographer a few weeks ago, and naturally we were comparing cameras. One of his questions to me was about how often I clean my sensor, and how vulnerable my camera is to dust.

Dust?

Are DSLRs really affected by it, and what effect does it have on your photography?
I've never really heard a sensible opinion, and I have no practical experience to judge with.

matthewpiers.com • @matthewpiers | robertsonphoto.blogspot.com | @thewsreviews • thewsreviews.com

I don't own a DSLR yet, but I have read a lot on the subject, and there is a very informative website regarding dirt on the sensor and the best way to clean it.

Check it out:
http://www.pbase.com/copperhill/image/15473243

Chris

If your lens is dusty, your images will be distorted. I sometimes have white circles on my photos, when i use flash. I think they are due to the fact, that my lens is dusty.

I've had those white circles too - one explanation I've heard is the flash reflecting off dust particles in the air, rather than on your lens...

It might be true, because I took photos in a just renovated room and there might be dust in the air. Hey, thanks for this tip. Smile I thought my lens was dirty.

I used to think it was my lens too (although sometimes it could be)... but just thinking about it - if flash light is being reflected off the dust, then the dust has to be in front of the camera. If it were on the lens, it would be shielded by the lens or camera body...

I think the article I was reading, was about these spots showing up in graveyards and people mistaking them for ghosts and spirits... Big Grin

I've seen examples of dust in the air creating visible reflections from an on-board flash; like red-eye, it affects cameras with the flash close to the lens. It's also a common problem for underwater photography, where it's called backscatter.