Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Hands-on test of 350D vs Olympus C750 Ultra-Zoom

Today I walked into a local camera store armed with my old Olympus C750UZ camera and a spare CF card.
I asked the salesman if I could use my CF card in a Canon 350D and take some test shots with it to take away and compare to the same shots taken with my C750, to which he agreed.

The point of this exercise was not to see if the 350D was better than the C750 (I would've been shocked if it wasn't), but to give me a "proper" feel for the camera by actually taking photos with it instead of simply holding a camera with no battery in it (previous salespeople haven't allowed me to switch it on) and to be able to compare the images with a known benchmark - my trusty old Olympus C750 that I've been using for a couple of years and know inside-out.

I've read all the 350D reviews, I know the specs inside out, I've used a 300D and knew the 350D would be similar, I've held a model with no battery in it, but I still needed to actually *use* the camera to settle the indicision inside of me.

So I took some very ordinary photos from inside the camera shop. The lighting was terrible; quite dark inside with a big window and loads of light outside - but in some ways that was good as it would highlight some of the problems with both cameras. I was there to find potential problems, not take pretty photos.
I'll briefly go through my impressions of the camera:

1) As soon as i picked it up, I thought "wow, this just feels right." The size and weight is perfect for me. It is about the same size as my old EOS 300 film SLR from memory, and a little bit heavier but not much. I remember the first time I picked up a 300D and I thought it felt too big and too light for its size. The 350D feels much better for me, but I know this is a very subjective thing.