Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

How good a photographer are you?

I thought I'd just ask a simple question - on a scale of 1 to 10 (ten being Ansel Adams) how would you rate yourself as a photographer?

I'm thinking I'm about a 4.....

0 - What's a camera
1 - oooh a shutter button
2 - stand over there .... okay.. say cheese
3 - Let me not shoot into the sun....
4 - If I'm going to shoot into the sun, use a reflector or something.. also... I need to stand over here because I'll get a good background.
5 - But if I stand over here, I'll get the colours and tones of the land, nice depth of field and tell a real nice story
6 - If I put a light here.. and here.. and block this off, and use this lens and plan before hand... and use my old 6,000 dollar lens.. I should get a great shot.
7 - I'm understand what I'm doing.. and can do it relibably every time... and get a very useful result.
8 - I do shows, am well known and put "Photographer" down as my tax form
9 - I'm a world expert in my chosen field.
10 - I'm the expert ever.

I think the max I'll achieve is 7.... maybe 8 (if I quit my current job, become single and shoot constantly).

Camera: Nikon D70
Level: Eager Amateur
Area of speciality: Sceneries
Area of Learning: Portraiture

Ha ha, nicely put, gd...

...by gd's ratings, I'm a 5.

...and NOT by gd's ratings...

On a good day, when I am super inspired - maybe an 8...most days a 6 or 7.

JMHO, folks...

well, you're definitely ahead of me Toadster.. fer sure... and the gap is not closing Smile

My ratings are the super dooper official ratings as defined by me.. though, you'd have thought if I had designed em, I'd have made me a 10, hahahah Smile

if you're rating a 10 being Ansel Adams though, we've got a long way to go.

I think that I'm 6 out of 10 for what I'm going to be... what that is on an Ansel Adams scale, who knows Smile

Camera: Nikon D70
Level: Eager Amateur
Area of speciality: Sceneries
Area of Learning: Portraiture

4-5 most days...