Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Is anyone here a Linux Fanboy?

I started playing around with Ubuntu Linux about 2 weeks ago, and I've been hooked since? Just wondering if anyone else uses linux or has done it in the past? For the benefit of others, Linux is a free, open source operating system that serves as an alternative to Windows or Mac OS, and Ubuntu is a distribution (type/flavour/variety) of Linux that is meant to be the most popular and easy to use.

[Image: desk.png]

I'm very surprised how well it works - everything is very slick, and seems to work without much tinkering. I installed it on my laptop, and things such as wireless, the trackpad, suspend/hibernate, even the little volume buttons all work flawlessly. I can access my shared storage drive on the network, connect to the internet, and listen to my iTunes files and more. There are popular programs such as firefox which run really well, and alternatives to the major apps such as OpenOffice, GIMP and others.

I made the transition slowly - firstly trying it out in VMWare using the free player (www.vmware.com) and then using one of the free images. I'd suggest this route to start off with because you can run Linux within Windows (although a bit slowly). You can feel your way around, Alt Tab back into windows if you're stuck, and at the end of the day, it doesn't modify your computer in any way.

Then I moved to the LiveCD version, which you can boot into from a CD ROM. This one allows you to try out Linux to see the full performance and compatibility of your hardware and the good thing is that it doesn't modify any settngs on your computer either. However, if you want to get back to windows, you will have to reboot.