Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Jobs, Jobs and more Jobs

Hi All,

I was just wondering out of all the professional photographers on these forums does anyone hold a standard job aswell to pay the bills... is this full time/part time is it common to have to work 2 jobs?

I want to go into business myself but im afraid i won't be able to support myself just doing photography.

Cheers for your help

Hi!

Im having a fulltime job aswell. Big Grin (well not any more i probebly working like 75-80%)

No seriously im just starting out my business, and have no unrealistic expectatiions. Im gradually going down in time from my "ordinary" job and will keep doing that until both my feet are safe on the "other" side.

Since im a Dad of three, i cant really take chances since it will not only affect me. However with some determination and hard work im confident ill get there someday.

Surely its never easy to hold a "ordinary" job and take on jobs on your "spare/free" time, but noone said it was gonna be easy so i never thought it would either. Big Grin

Im sure people with more experience then i have will chime in with some advice.

Welcome to ST btw.

/Paul L.

Strives to make photos instead of taking them...

When I was a *professional* photographer, I did not havre a full time job, but it was extremely fortunate that I could pay the bills without one, because in the early days, my profits would not have paid my bills....

Most businesses fail not because of bad ideas or bad talent, but because of cash flow.

I have been shooting weddngs for about three years now. I still work full time and it is starting to get insane.

I am seriously considering trying to get a day a week free from my regular job. The first two years my family would not have survived on the Wedding stuff alone - especially as it is so seasonal.