Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Looking to get a Nikon D80 but I need help with lens choice

So I am a student, I just enjoy photography and I am looking to possibly make a little bit of money off of photography but if I don't o well...

Now everyone is saying to get the 18-200mm VR Nikon lens but I DON'T have that kind of money... So I was looking at getting one of the following;
1. Get the D80 with the 18-135mm lens
2. Get the D80 with the 18-55mm lens and the 70-300mm G lens ($156.00) - This option gives me a better zoom but then I have to carry around 2 lens'. In the same token it saves me about $45...

So I am not sure what I want to do, any recomendations?

Hey and welcome to Shuttertalk!

I know Toad would definitely say the 18-200, but we all have budget constraints.

The 18-135 is new, so I haven't heard much about it.

I've used both 18-55 and 18-70 lenses and I must say that optically, they're both pretty much on par. The 18-55 is suprisingly good; just that you get a more solid construction with the 18-70.

I also have the 55-200, which is quite good optically as well, just a bit slow. Can't comment on the 70-300...

Hope that helps...

shuttertalk Wrote:Hey and welcome to Shuttertalk!

I know Toad would definitely say the 18-200, but we all have budget constraints.

The 18-135 is new, so I haven't heard much about it.

I've used both 18-55 and 18-70 lenses and I must say that optically, they're both pretty much on par. The 18-55 is suprisingly good; just that you get a more solid construction with the 18-70.

I also have the 55-200, which is quite good optically as well, just a bit slow. Can't comment on the 70-300...

Hope that helps...
Now I want to check otu the 55-200! lol The 70-300 is a bit slow but if i set it to manual its not bad I can focus it faster then it can...