Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Thinking about going Mirrorless

Howdie folks!
I have been shooting with a DLSR for the past 12 years and always loved it. Lately however I see more and more colleagues replacing their DLSR's for mirrorless systemcamera's. And I must say, next to the loss of a lot of weight, costs and space, the quality of their photography is still great! Are mirrorless camera's starting to pass by the DLSR?? For a while I have been saving up for a better DLSR camera, but now I am actually researching to go into a complete new system.
Although Mirrorless comes out as the loser in this article, I think the mirrorless will pass the DLSR very quick in the near future.

Do you guys have any experience with these? What do you think?

I wouldn't hesitate to go mirroless. If Canon brought out a FF mirrorless to replace the EOS 6D I'd get it tomorrow - and only because I have an investment in Canon fit lenses I don't want to loose shedloads on.

I thik you are right about mirroless leapfrogging DSLRs before long. I have a Panasonic GX8 which I use if traveling light and it is superior to a DSLR in almost every respect except sensor size. Th EVF is clear, sharp, and well lit at all times, and of course has the option to show almost anything in the viewfinder you can see on the live view rear screen. The electronic shutter is quiet, and burst tate is high for action work. All in all its what Canon with all their resources should have had a couple of years ago.

I looked at Sony and they are excellent but at present the Sony to EF adapters are not 100% for focusing with my EF lenses. If it was I would have switched by now.

I guess if Canon don't do something serious to replace the EOS 6D very soon, or bring out a full frame mirrorless I will bite the bullet and sell up everything and get a Sony - or whatever suits my needs at that time.