Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Panasonic Lumix FZ20

Hello!

This is my first post to coincide with the purchase of my first digital camera.

Jessops (UK Based) have the camera on sale for £199 - I was going to buy a Nikon D70s later in the year - but I have no patience when it comes to buying new kit.

I was a little annoyed at having to wait for nearly 2 hours for the battery to charge up before I could use it - I can see a spare battery purchase on the horizon.

I took it out for a test drive in Sandhurst this afternoon - I am pretty pleased with it to be honest - I have been avoiding going down the digital route for many years - but I think this is going to be an exciting addition to my hobby.

Does anybody have any thoughts on the FZ20 - have I made an error!

Ray.

Nikon F55, Pentax K100D, Panasonic Lumix FZ20, Olympus OM1.
Darkroom Dweller.

Congratulations on taking the leap, and welcome. A photographer who I admire (elsewhere) uses the FZ20, so I have no doubt you've made an excellent choice.

Two hours to charge a brand-new battery isn't long -- leave it on the charger overnight when you're done today. After that, rechargeable batteries generally do best when charged frequently and never fully drained. Pop it back on the charger frequently, and you'll never have another 2h wait.

matthewpiers.com • @matthewpiers | robertsonphoto.blogspot.com | @thewsreviews • thewsreviews.com

Congratulations on your purchase, and welcome to Shuttertalk Smile

Now where's some pictures??? Big Grin

I understand the FZ20 is an excellent camera from what I hear. Somebody on this forum has one - I can't remember who. Maybe they will chime in with their opinion.

You're in the UK?

Cave canem

Congrats on the purchase! The panasonics have generally been regarded well - long lens and IS makes for a good combo. I think most people complain about noisy high ISO images, but with IS, you can avoid it...

Rufus Wrote:You're in the UK?

Yeah in Yateley, Hampshire.