Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Samsung NX1000

I am new to the digital world having been faithful to my old Pentax SLR. With the Pentax I had a 200mm lens which was a dream. I now have a Samsung NX1000 which comes with a 50mm zoom lens. I haven't even received it yet, so I have no idea what the details are. I want that same 200mm advantage as I do a lot of wildlife photography. Looking on Ebay, I am totally confused, as to why most of it seems to involve 'converters' for my Samsung ? Why would I need a converter ? There are also macro/200mm zoom lenses which screw together and are unscrewed depending on usage. I don't want to make a mistake and buy something I can't use. How far is the zoom for my supplied 50mm lens. What should I be looking for to get the advantage that the lense on my Pentax SLR gave me. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

The zoom is 20-50mm on the Samsung, this would be like a 30-75mm on your old Pentax.

The longest lens available in the NX mount your new camera uses is currently 200mm, and will give the same image as a 300mm on the pentax.

The cheap screw-on modifiers and adapters you find on ebay typically result in very poor image quality.

If your main intention is wildlife photography and you have not yet bought the samsung I would seriously consider a different camera. One with longer lenses available and without the slow shutter speed of the samsung, the shutter doesn't fire for nearly half a second after pushing the button, I'm afraid you may find this very frustrating for wildlife photography.

Welcome Roz.

Do you still have your Pentax lenses? You would need an adapter (from Amazon or eBay) if you want to connect a Pentax lens to your Samsung NX camera. There are Pentax-M42 to NX, and Pentax-K to NX adapters on sale. The adapter is needed because the connection (screw or bayonet) is different from the Samsung bayonet.