Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Shooting weddings

May I begin by saying that this is something I leave to the few who can.......... I'm not one of them, and never could be.

Wedding Shooters:
How do you cope?
I've witnessed the stress and terror of the "big" wedding, and I try to imagine what it must be like for the photographer who shoulders such a responsibility.
How do you deal with it all?

I'd love to hear stories, please!

I've shot 5 weddings, and I have to say, I hate it. I am a bag of nerves for days before.

Haven't had any disasters so far, but I say no a lot more than I say yes. That said, the last one I shot bought me a new Flash and Bracket.

I have been photographing weddings for about 5 years now. Once you get past the first 20 or so it starts to get easier.

You have a growing confidence in how the day works and what to do in each situation.

Not suggesting that you are wanting to start shooting weddings, but to know how to cope I would suggest someone who wanted to get into it should assist someone for about 10 to 20 weddings before you start really marketing yourself as a wedding shooter.

That way you will have some work to show clients as well as learning from someone on the job. Of course finding someone who is willing to train you especially knowing you want to start your own business could be tricky. You will need to be willing to work for free for a while probably. To be honest, the on the job experience is worth far more then any pay.

The photographer may, eventually, also be willing to pass on work to you if he/she is already booked.

Ultimately you cope by being very familiar with your camera and how to work with people. If you are not good at both these things you are not really ready for taking on weddings. Go out and practice so you will be ready.