Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average

Street photography. How to feel comfortable with?!

Hi everyone.

I've been doing a lot of street photography lately, and I've notice that sometimes is quite difficult to approach people you don't know, or to use your big dslr in the middle of strangers, specially if you are a beginner.

I remember my first days in photography when my 55-200 was the best way to do it Tongue but things are harder now with a 35mm...
I'm usually lucky, and I think smilling while asking someone for a photo is important, but is there any others techniques that could help us to improve our fear of shooting people or being in public with our camera?!

The idea of being confronted can increase anxiety so I guess being prepared for it will lessen the burden. Having ready scripts like "I'm a photography student and I'm just practicing", or, "I'm doing a photography project. Hope you don't mind" can make you feel ready just in case someone comes up to you. Smile

-DK

Good tips for sure DK.
Usually receiving a "no" does't hurt so its better to keep shooting. I believe its quite easier
to shoot people if you start in your local area with people you see everyday in your journey, it builds confidence that will help you in the future.

[b][i][color=#006400]