Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

my first critique, any takers??

Hi there. I hope I'm posting this in the right place, it's my first forum. lol I'm relatively new to photography and would love an honest opinion on my work and some steps to take to improve it. I (stupidly) agreed to shoot a wedding by myself for a friend who can't afford a pro and am losing sleep over whether I will screw it up or not. Here's a few photos I've taken. If you're kind enough to critique, please be 100% honest. I can take it! It's a tortuous thing to know that your work needs improvement somewhere without being able to pinpoint it! Thanks so much for your time. Smile

Attached Files Image(s)

Great series, nothing to critique hardly at all, lighting is nice, great poses, nicely exposed. My one and only comment is the 4th image (girl sat on path) looks like the focus may of missed her eyes, but might also be a result of resizing. Doesn't look like you have much to worry about to me.

welcome to ShutterTalk!

Great Pics, well done. But, you could have taken them again! Not so easy to reshoot a wedding, (Have done so)! If you are in ANY doubt, politely decline. Cheers. Ed.

To each his own!

Wedding photos have a lot of standard shots you must take - find a list of those and it will help.

For example you need Bride, Bride+Groom, Bride+Groom+parents, Arrival at Church, Departure after marriage, --- and so on; there is a list here from which you can select the really IMPORTANT shots ---

http://www.bridalguide.com/planning/wedd...-shot-list

And you need to know if the wedding is a formal affair or casual/outdoor affair - do your research, and then go for it ! When all is over show us some samples.

Smile

Thank you for taking the time to post, I think you're right about the eyes. I'll watch for that in the future.