Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Hi all

I am new to this site and am glad to be here. I am an amatuer photographer in my mid-forties, living in Oxfordshire. I have always worked with film cameras, mostly the Canon A1 which I have got my most successful shots from. Recently, I have been tempted to dabble in the digital word.
Is there anyone who could suggest a site that deals with the switching between the two mediums?

Any help with this confusing issue would be gratefully recieved!

All the best

Welcome to the Forum. Had a A1, a classic in it's time. Ed.

To each his own!

(Apr 9, 2015, 13:53)EdMak Wrote:  Welcome to the Forum. Had a A1, a classic in it's time. Ed.

Thanks! Well ahead of its time as well.......

Hi Paul, check out 'Digital Photography School' useful site for info and free to join to get regular newsletter, tips and information etc.

Welcome to the Forums... I still have my AE1 Prog. amongst many others... but sadly the lenses won't work with my Canon 1Dmk4 or the 1Ds... that's one thing to consider when making the switch... FD glass was good in its day... but the new glass- even the non L series is way better... just some construction and materials on the lower end leave a bit to be desired, everything is built to a price... and that price will be a major consideration for you... I still use some film and it's ok.. but having gotten used to the ability to see the image and analyse it with the histogram... I can, if necessary, reshoot there and then - not regret it a week later when the prints come back...( gave up the darkroom when I left the UK for Canada!) and "she who is to be obeyed" is nowadays much happier with no large numbers of rolls of film in the fridge! Big Grin

Good luck and let us know how you get on

Kind regards

Rolf

In photography, the smallest thing can be a great subject. The little human detail can become a leitmotiv.

—Henri Cartier-Bresson