Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

raw conversion with consequence

In other words, thinking at the raw stage about the image you're aiming for..that is, if you have to leave it till this late to decide what shot you're aiming for! In simple terms, this involves being a bit more creative than just, er, batch-slapping :| in your default converter.
...(what's that..?..."I'm a professional: I can't afford to be creative..."?)Big Grin Just ma leetle joke...Smile

Actually, all these involved choosing a final image "feel", working out how best to process towards that feel, then ensuring I didn't do anything too daft at the raw stage. For example, if I wanted a final image to have a range of tones and some colour depth, I wouldn't blat the contrast up and the saturation down, 'tis all...nothing complicated.

1. This chap is actually lifeless: he's a wax model, perched at a mock-up of a platform signal-room, looking out onto a reconstructed platform in the museum: thus, I thought that distressed sepia was the way to go, if predictable:

[Image: 2507_LRweb.jpg]

2. I wanted here that sort of old school "Matchbox/cigarette card" flavour to the colour, giving it a suggestion of "yesteryear":

[Image: 2513_LRweb.jpg]

3. There was a walkway underneath this locomotive, so as to see and investigate the dangly bits of this great leviathan. Yeah, I know.
The boy was running just quick enough to generate a wee bit of blur, which was quite a strange effect. I wished to heighten this sense of the slightly dislocated by boosting contrast, so I went for a "red filtration" look. Now, given the colours there and the contrast this would entail, I guessed that the kid's legs would disappear into the floor, given the same tonal value. I could therefore afford to raise the contrast and boost the amount of reds at the conversion stage....reds of course becoming lighter and the complementary colour(green) becoming darker. O-level physics Jim.. Smile

[Image: 2517_LRweb.jpg]