DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: Would someone be so kind as to, ......
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
provide a semi-detailed work flow process of Raw --> the final save as a sRGB.

I dowloaded the trial version of Nikon Capture 4.3.1 (with full intention of purchasing it when it expires next month), however I am new to the RAW experience. Today I shot 80 pictures of a family in various poses etc (many of them in rapid sucession to ensure I didn't get any "blinkers"). At thispoint I looked at the pics in capture and am quite pleased with the difference between nef and jpeg.

However, I did a search on workflow in a couple of areas and was unable to find anything to my liking. Ideally, I would benefit most from a step by step process Such as:

1. download nef files into capture
2. set white balance (is automatic the way to go, or eyeball it?)
3. do as much processing as possible, ie saturation, color, sharpening etc)
4. save as a final nef file
5. then, save all my work in a separate folder as tiff files for additional work in PS CS, such as blemish touch ups and any other CS work.
6. back up all tiff files
7. I shot these in Mode II on my D70, and my workspace is set to Adobe RGB. Once I am done all my work, I will assign them to sRGB and save them as high quality jpegs, as they are going to the family on a disc for printing at their leisure. I will keep the tiff files backed up at my location.

Have I missed anything? Does this seem correct? I would love to hear from anyone else re: their workflow.

Thanks in advance,

Jerry.
Jerry I am alive again check your email =)
could the answer(s) be sent here so that I can check it out... I'm doing a couple of courses and they are all telling me to shoot NEF (for the lossless scenario) but I have less than a good idea how to process them back into shape.