DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: I'm having trouble seeing any proof of Image Stabilization... help!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
This is probably a two fold question, so here goes. I just purchased a Canon 300mm F4L IS USM lens for my 7D. I've been using a Canon 24 -105mm F4L IS USM and have taken several tack sharp images. Mostly with the assistance of a tripod. This weekend I used the 300 on a tripod, IS off, and hand held it, IS on, but still could not get sharp images. Is there something I am missing? And does a 300mm take tack sharp images anyway?

I started in the darkroom with photography in the early 70's. I am just getting into DSLR photography in the last year and a half. I do have the background knowledge of how cameras work, composition and experience behind the camera. I just need some answers (help)! :/
What shutter speed were you shooting with?
Hi, and welcome to Shuttertalk.

photohobo024 Wrote:This weekend I used the 300 on a tripod, IS off, and hand held it, IS on, but still could not get sharp images.
We do need a little more information, such as aperture and shutter speed, before we can have any specific insight. Also, if you can post a smallish image that we can see, we might have a better idea of what the source of the softness is.

In general, the Canon 300/4L should be a very sharp lens even when it's wide open. If you're getting soft images even on a tripod with the IS turned off, then it deserves an investigation.