DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: Photography Jargon
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
After taking up Photography as a hobby a few months ago, I find I am still not familiar with the Shutter speed / Aperture / ISO concept.
Is there a formula or rule of thumb on how to remember them?
or how each works with each other etc?
I know if I increase the shutter speed, it will freeze the image, but let less light in.
And decreasing the shutter speed will give running water a softer look, but lets more light in.
How do I get it correct ?
Hi JOHNYTROUT,
You may find the following of interest: Main Photography Forum--- Aperture+ShutterSpeed Chart---- Post #2 from Wall-E with a link to Exposureguide.com.
As a novice I found this most beneficial with good graphics. I even put Wall-E onto my Christmas Card List !
(Oct 24, 2013, 15:40)johnytrout Wrote: [ -> ]After taking up Photography as a hobby a few months ago, I find I am still not familiar with the Shutter speed / Aperture / ISO concept.
I know if I increase the shutter speed, it will freeze the image, but let less light in.
And decreasing the shutter speed will give running water a softer look, but lets more light in.

I am finding this increasingly frustrating.
It's all very well learning what each things do, but how do they all come together?
If for instance, I switch to manual. I see a bird and think "Ok, 1/25 of a second
I thumble around with the aperture numbers, the ISO ......
AND THEN THE BIRD IS GONE!
Ahhh, well, back to Auto Sad

I would suggest that 1/25 sec would be too slow for a picture of a bird, unless it was hanging up in a butcher’s shop. There are some good videos on the net about photographing wildlife. Good place to start.