DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: Samsung NX1000
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am new to the digital world having been faithful to my old Pentax SLR. With the Pentax I had a 200mm lens which was a dream. I now have a Samsung NX1000 which comes with a 50mm zoom lens. I haven't even received it yet, so I have no idea what the details are. I want that same 200mm advantage as I do a lot of wildlife photography. Looking on Ebay, I am totally confused, as to why most of it seems to involve 'converters' for my Samsung ? Why would I need a converter ? There are also macro/200mm zoom lenses which screw together and are unscrewed depending on usage. I don't want to make a mistake and buy something I can't use. How far is the zoom for my supplied 50mm lens. What should I be looking for to get the advantage that the lense on my Pentax SLR gave me. Any advice would be very much appreciated.
The zoom is 20-50mm on the Samsung, this would be like a 30-75mm on your old Pentax.

The longest lens available in the NX mount your new camera uses is currently 200mm, and will give the same image as a 300mm on the pentax.

The cheap screw-on modifiers and adapters you find on ebay typically result in very poor image quality.

If your main intention is wildlife photography and you have not yet bought the samsung I would seriously consider a different camera. One with longer lenses available and without the slow shutter speed of the samsung, the shutter doesn't fire for nearly half a second after pushing the button, I'm afraid you may find this very frustrating for wildlife photography.
Welcome Roz.