DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: Sigma 18-55 2.8 EX DC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm pretty new in SLR world, I own EOS 300D and this Sigma lens (18-55 2.8).. Generally, the lens performs very well except for one thing - the lens flare in night photos.

Generally in all my night photos (where there are street lights) I have a LOT of lens flare, and I keep the hood on the lens all the time.

Since I'm new at this, could someone tell me is this lens supposed to be having this much flare (my previous point and shoot KONICA MINOLTA did not have almost any flare and it was cheaper than this lens) or should I return (and change) the lens ?

I will post a pic to show you as soon as i get home, don't have an example here (at the office)

thanx for any reply

p.s. my english may not be that good, sorry bout that.
Hi RM, how about posting a couple of the photos, make sure you reduce the size to less than 800xXXX and less than 150kb. Are the shots overexposed, underexposed?

Cheers.

PeteD
Ok, will do so in a couple of hours (when I get home - in the office at the moment)... thanx for a quick reply. I will surely reduce their size.

The truth is that on overexposed shots there is more lens flare than on underxposed ones but flare is everywhere.. stay tuned. Thanx again.
A list of settings would also be good. Cheers.

Where I am in the world it is almost 11PM so I am off to bed, will catch you in my morning. Wink
Also, if you are using a UV filter, let us know which type.

I get very little flare on my copy of this lens when using the hood, unless the sun is in the frame.
I'm not using any filter. Yes, the sun makes some flare when in the frame, but that's acceptable, the real problem is on street lights in evening shots..

aargh, can't wait to post an example (still in the office)