DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: Confused?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am on here almost everyday, and look at almost every picture posted . I read what is said ( good and not so good ). Then try to see what everyone else is seeing. But here is what i am confused about. There are a few " pictures " that get posted that have been digatally alterd ( sp ) to make them look like paintings. I dont get it .
I know that i am new to photography and all that but whats wrong with pictures? I am not saying that they dont look good as " paintings " but i would like to see the real picture .

I havent posted many pictures for one reason , my camera is in the shop . But when i get it back i will be posting alot , to see what you think.

Thanks in advance for you input , Shawn ( aka B.D. )
Hey Shawn,

I think there are different styles with digital photography and manipulation. Some like their photos unaltered as much as possible (like me), while some take artistic liberty to produce works of art (Toad is a good example). Because digital photos are easily manipulated (as opposed to film based ones), it opens itself to more creative expression.

It also depends on the purpose of your photo. If it's for reportage or journalism, then obviously an unaltered photo would be the best fit. If it's for creative art, then it's no holds barred.

I don't think there is anything "wrong" with digitally altered pictures, but personal preference also comes into play.

Look forward to seeing more photos from you! Big Grin
Hey Shawn (I'm sure I'll call you Drake from now on),

You raise a point that is common on many photo forums - at what point is a processed photo no longer a photo, but rather a "digital image" or some other form of "artwork."