DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: lens question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
i'm thinking of getting a wide lens. my choice are canon 17 - 40 or the tokina 12 - 24. here's the hard part, i was shooting my family using my canon 18 - 55 coz that's the widest i got and gave me some nice shots. so now i'm geting confused if i'm still gonna get a 17 -40 L or just use my 18 - 55 and just get the tokina 12 - 24?

thanks
cleng
If you want wide, with the 1.6x crop, the 12-24 will be nice and wide. But when taking group photographs with a wide lens, distortion may be apparent and cause the people around the sides to appear a little stretched.

the L is nice... mmmmm L .....L ... sorry, getting carried away Smile but may not be wide enough.
clengster - I have been giving the Tokina 12-24 serious consideration myself. I have no hands on experience, but there has really been nothing but good said about this lens online - much like the Tamron 90mm macro in that way. Sometimes the 3rd party lensmakers hit a homerun and the Tokina 12-24 seems to be one of those.

If you buy it, please post your impressions. I, at least, would be very interested.

BTW: there is a huge difference between 12mm and 18mm - and the 17-40 will not add anything to your current reach - lovely lens though it undoubtably is. You will find that an ultra wide lens adds a lot to your repotoire of tricks - even though it may not be the best lens to use for group portraits.
It's nice and wide
[Image: IMG_8492.jpg]

but some distortion
[Image: IMG_7944.jpg]
(my friends face is naturally symmetrical)

Do all wide lenses exhibit distortion?
Agree with Mr. T... if you're getting the 17-40, it'll be because of the L glass and the superior image quality.

The 12-24 will open up a whole new perspective for your shots.

I guess you'll have to decide which is more important for you at this time... Big Grin