DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: panasonic FZ3 or FZ10
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
:/ I am undecided and need some advice. I am new to the digital camera world. I have been looking at the Panasonic FZ10 & FZ3 and cannot choose Sad I mostly take photos of motocross (the zoom will be great for that). Can anyone help?
Hi Peta, welcome to Shuttertalk! Going digital can be daunting, but many of us have travelled the road, and the rewards are well worth it. Feel free to ask for more tips, etc.

If you're just comparing those two, I would say that the FZ10 is way better. The FZ3 is newer, but the FZ10 seems to have the upper hand on specs:
- 4MP vs 3MP
- 1/2.5" sensor vs 1/3.2" (larger sensor = less noise)
- Fixed F2.8 aperture, vs F2.8-8.0 (more light at longer zoom lengths)
- External Flash Hot shoe
- 2.0 inch LCD vs 1.5 inch

I haven't used either, although there are a couple of FZ10 users who hang out here, who can give their 2c worth Smile

Jules
I LOVE MY FZ10!!

I can't say much about the 3, since I haven't used it, but from the specs that ST just posted, it seems like a no-brainer.

You might want to consider waiting for the FZ20... the news release is around here somewhere I think... ah, here: http://www.shuttertalk.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=301
I really like my FZ10 too.
The only other digital I've used is a Canon A60, so I can't really compare it to anything either.
The FZ3 might be a good choice if size is an issue, but otherwise I'd say go for the FZ10 or 20.
Ooh look a Perth person who shoots Motocross, wonder if its someone I know Smile

Hi Peta, I have no idea on the cameras mentioned so I'll stay out of it.
Both cameras do good job depending on how much you want to spend,
Hi aussieblue... I just checked out your forum... very Lumix-friendly! Big Grin

I might have to start spending some time there - us Lumix folks are so mis-understood by the rest of the world...