DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: I have a question!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I'm a photographer without much money, and therefore not much equipment. (Am I really a photographer if I don't have all that "stuff?").

Anyway, not much money means I'm working on a 30 day trial version of photoshop (it's still within the first 30 days, so it's still legit). Anyway, I've adjusted everything to look good on my screen, and saved a couple of PSD files and the rest at Jpeg with 12 compression. I'm about to go through and save the one's I've post processed, but before I do I'm wondering what types of changes I'll have to make so that what I see will be the same as what gets printed. Oh, on a side note, I'm in China and don't trust any of the people here to get the colors printed right as 1) I don't speak Chinese and don't know how to explain this all to them and 2) I sit and watch little highschool girls slaughter pictures in photoshop everytime I get my pictures burned to CD's. Anyway, can I record my computer monitor's make and model and settings and just tell the people when I get home, or do I need to make some corrections myself?
First question first: If you are taking photos, you are really a photographer. Some really great photos have been made with equipment that was little more than a box camera. Equipment doesn't make the photo, the skill of the photographer makes the photo.