DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: Assistance needed with competition - please help me choose!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
This is "member only" competition (anybody wishing to become member, please contact me). The title is "Nature's Art". It calls for something nature has created" and lists examples ranging from snowstorm to bugs. The photos are in the size and resolution required. There must be no postprocessing and photos must be as taken. I am thinking of submitting one of the ones below - your advice please. I have no experience in competitions. Pavel

[Image: Compet-cand__DSC8084.jpg]

[Image: Compet-cand__DSC8090.jpg]

[Image: Compet-cand__DSC8095.jpg]

[Image: Compet-cand__DSC8129.jpg]

[Image: Compet-cand__DSC8140.jpg]

[Image: Compet-cand__DSC8145.jpg]

[Image: Compet-cand__DSC8147.jpg]

[Image: Compet-cand_DSC8078.jpg]
As this is the way you have to present them and there is no chance for post processing, I would choose the first one.

It has good light and composition. I like very much the texture in the water.
I like it too Irma - I just wander whether that is nature's art. I feel that that photo, to a significant degree just copies nature. I wonder whethe one of the closer cropped images would not work better as "art". The photo will be selected by the site's "contest committee". My guess that these will be a committee of members that have the highest score, although I dot think that the score always reflects talent or skill levels on that site all that well. Pavel
Hi, Pavel! If I had to make a choice, I would agree with Irma that No.1 is the best of the bunch. The inclusion of the rocks with their contrasting shade and texture, give a much needed perspective to the image. Otherwise you have superbly photographed strands of candy floss. Well, you know my feelings about that. Go with No.1.

Still, hopefully, your friend.....Dennis