DSLR Photography Forum

Full Version: Can you guide me which digital camera best for my profession?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys, this is my fist time in this forum, and I am really exited. I'm a beginner photographer and I'm thinking in buying my first canon camera. Most of what I do is portrait, Wedding and fashion photography and I'm still confused which canon camera should i buy. My options are EOS 40D, EOS 450D. Please let me know which one do you think is the best camera for me? My friend refer me one site provides for digital camera reviews. Also, what kind of lenses you recommend would be better to get for this camera?
Big Grin

Ok, who's the joker? It wasnt me!
I do not understand marketerson - what IS your profession? P
Mark, in all honesty, I wouldn't recommend either camera for the tasks you're attempting if you want to work as a professional. To do good work in the fields you've chosen is very demanding on the equipment, and being able to work professionally means you need duplicates of your main equipment. It's a much larger expense and more complex decision than simply choosing between a Rebel and a 40D.

If I was to hire a wedding photographer, the minimum equipment I would look for would be at least a pair of 40D's, although I'd be happier with at least one 5D in the mix for the important photos. (I'd accept the 40D because I wouldn't be having a white-dress/black-tux event.) I'd need to see a couple of the 2.8L zooms, bright primes, and at least two powerful strobes per camera. Call it about $10,000 to $15,000 invested - and then I'd still need to see the portfolios that prove that they know what they're doing.