DSLR Photography Forum
First DSLR Camera - Printable Version

+- DSLR Photography Forum (https://www.shuttertalk.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Digital Photography Forum (https://www.shuttertalk.com/forums/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: Main Photography Discussion (https://www.shuttertalk.com/forums/forum-17.html)
+--- Thread: First DSLR Camera (/thread-8158.html)

First DSLR Camera - Khaasta - Nov 26, 2007

Hello, I am looking at getting my first DSLR camera. I am interested in taking pictures of landscapes and possibly wildlife here and there and some night-time photos. I am looking at the Pentax K100D and the Nikon D40, they both seem like very good cameras and are the only ones I can really afford, under the $500 mark. I am completely new to DSLR cameras and have no lenses and just enough money to get the basic camera and lenses kit. I was leaning for the Nikon d40 until I found out about the Pentax K100D with the SR and the availability of lenses. But, I have heard that some people having problems with the viewfinder and sensor not being aligned on the Pentax K100D, is this a big deal, or really noticeable at all in the photos? As far as being on a really tight budget, which camera would you all recommend for the first time user, taking pictures of mainly landscapes, possibly some night-time photos as well. With either of these cameras, how low could I get shutter speed without a tripod do you think? Have a fairly steady hand, and could always lean up against something if I needed.
Thanks for any input! Big Grin

First DSLR Camera - NT73 - Nov 26, 2007

I have a steady hand. I have never spilt a drop of the amber liquid in 65 years, but you will need a tripod or solid base for night shots, sometimes a prop is not good enough. (Somewhere you can let go of the camera while it take the photo.)